National Crochet Month- Hearts

Yoohoo.. March is the month of crochet and I hope to write more on this topic. Crochet has been my love all these while since I picked it up when I was 12 years old… Yup.. I’m sure you be wondering why I’m  such a boring teenager where many others are doing other things interesting. Well back then we don’t have the luxury of the internet. For me, I hang out mostly at my local craft shops and made friends with these craft-loving people. So anyhow I saw these ladies doing crochet and thought maybe I should  try it out too..

Fast forward to this time and age… I think I’m able to crochet faster than I stitch. To celebrate the start of National Crochet, I’ve made all these little hearts for my humble art space.

IMG_1336IMG_1342

You may find the heart pattern here.
So an up-close look at it…
IMG_1340How I crochet the heart is as follows:
I’ve crochet two pieces (front and back). To make the ornament up, I then crochet using crab-stitch to by inserting the beads at the edge. I then stuff it with polyester. After which, I made a loop and then I sew in some flower and ribbons to the top.  Yes is really crab-stitch.. I did not type it wrongly. You can view the you-tube video here. I feel using crab stitch, the beads will seat nicely on the edge.
So What do you think of the final out come?
Do you like it?
I’ll come back more later for crochet project.
Happy Hooking!

15 thoughts on “National Crochet Month- Hearts

  1. Love the hearts. I learned to crochet when I was just 8 years old…and the crab stitch is one of my favorite edges…..

  2. Well I didn’t know about it being National crochet month, I shall have to get my hook out now. Your hearts are great, the beaded edging finishes them off really well.

  3. Sweet hearts! I also learned to crochet when I was 12. My step Mom taught me and I was so happy to finally get it. I haven’t crocheted anything in a few years. The last time was little flowers and hearts for my cards. Will get back to it one day.

    • I find it fun to do crocheting. And love to make little flowers or hearts too.. ❤️❤️❤️ hope you’ll be happy crocheting one day again

Comments are closed.