Caught the Knitting Bug

Hello Friends and readers,

Wow.. June already?? Where have May gone too?? I just can’t believe that 31 days of May just vanished from the calendar like that.. Oh dear… The Next few months as suggested by the meteorological center is going to be HOT here and I’m so not looking forward to that.. :/

… May has been great fun as there were days where they brought in MORE rain.. heehee okie dokie… let’s get down into business here..

So as the title mentioned.. Yes, I’ve caught the knitting bug and have been happily knitting the past few days when outside has been pouring furiously… πŸ˜€

I’m happy to show you my end piece of the previous Knit Project. You may read more here.

Viola.. and it had become a Shrug. The Knitting Stitches are leaf pattern and works in multiple of (6 stitches + 4)

photo 2photo 1The pattern is as below:
Leaf Pattern (multiple of 6 sts + 4)
Row 1 (RS):
K2, *k3, yo, sl 1, k2tog, psso, yo; rep from * to last 2 sts, K2

Row 2 & 4 (WS): Purl

Row 3:
K2* yo, sl 1, k2tog, psso, yo, k3; rep from * to last 2 sts, k2

(repeat rows 1-4 for pattern)

And the cool thing for Shrug, work to the length you are comfortable with and fold lengthwise. What I recommend is to measure your back and then the length you like for your sleeves to be. You can more on thatΒ here. Sew the two sides for sleeves, remembered to marked the length you want it to be. I usually sew an invisible seam using the mattress stitching.

Fotor0601112836

And I’ve also started another project. I got this Soft Yarn on sale again and so I’ve bought 3 skeins x 100g. The pattern I got is from this awesome knit book Β by Kim Dolce~ Dolce Handknits
(ISBN:978-60468-013-3)

And I’ve been knitting this pattern~Charleston.
I love the lace work which will come up later πŸ˜€
This is the first time I chose this warm colours.. as you know, I usually go for lighter tones.. Maybe you got click on the picture to see the Wildflower Knots which I’ve knitted as below:
photo
So far, I’ve finished the back and also right front. Can’t wait to tackle the Left and the Sleeves. Β The inserting bit comes later with the knitting of the Lace Panel. So I’m trying to get me hands quickly to knit that part πŸ˜‰

photophoto 5Hopefully I will come back later with more updates and see how the left front and sleeves knitting process goes..

Wishing you happy crafting wherever you are and
enjoy this lovely weekend :D.

For more information on Knitting or Crochet classes, please click here.

34 thoughts on “Caught the Knitting Bug

    • thank you.. not sure if i’ve understood the question correctly..
      guess sometimes most shrug pattern may have quite tight measurements.. and I usually knit 1-2 inches extra for that to compensate it to ease that when putting it on.. it can be quite tight/ uncomfortable to put on if the measure is too way spot on..
      hope i’ve answered that part correctly.. heehee.. πŸ˜‰

  1. Gorgeous shrug you’ve knitted! Knitting is one thing that gets me into a load of knots, me and knitting don’t get on too well, give me something to crochet any day!

    • wooo.. i love crochet too.. love the lace work and is really fun “Hooking”..
      i think for knitting.. one really needs loads of “Patience” (not that you are not).. for me.. it took me years to really KNIT.. and then to understand the pattern..I’m really bluffed sometimes with knitting patterns than crochet ones

      I think Crochet work is very fast compare to knitted piece.. all in all.. we are just yarn lover right.. so no worries.. we’ll have fun doing crocheting one day too.. πŸ˜€

  2. I wish I could get a grasp on the knitting bug, have always struggled to get to grips with it. Your shrug looks lovely, perfect to wear with a dress and Im very intrigued by the wildflower knots πŸ™‚

    • sad to say.. i’m pretty slow with knitting.. the process is just very slow.. and takes longer time to make a cardigan.. (but I’m still hanging on there).. I’ve technically knitted a shrug and the maroon yarn is for a cardigan (but there’s like 5 parts to it, the back, the left front, right front and 2 sleeves) yup.. I got to say knitters do have loads of patience.. and I don’t really fall in that category.. I love crochet way too much.. just like my post say.. i’ve caught the knitting bug.. heehee…

    • heehee.. yes knitting does slow the heart beat down a little as one gets into the momentum of knit and purl.. but then the process is really longer than crocheting.. :/
      i do enjoy crochet more actually cos is faster for a finished fiber art. πŸ˜€

Comments are closed.