Needle-quest (May)~Blackwork Part 2/2

Happy Friday everyone,
Wow.. the work week just flew by like that eh? Is the time of the month again to check in with Sew In Love on our Monthly Needle Quest Journey. This month being Blackwork, is one of my favourite needle-work techniques. If you are new to this blog and want to read more on part 1, feel free to read more here.

So as mentioned previously, I had 4 more panels to go and I’m proud to present you the 4 other panels and the finished piece.
Yipeeee ‘n’ here we go…

photo 4

Beads and Clover Leaf

Hexagons and Square

Flower and clover leafs

Hearts

photo 3

YEAH! All 12 panels completed

And with the finished piece, I’ve tried my best to turn this work into a….

Have you made a guess yet??…

Make it a quick make one..

and yes, it is turned into a

*Pull Bell*

Alright, if you ask me why a Pull Bell, (okie, very Victorian Thinking here), I guess is because of the longish shape of the finished work and it kind of fits it into these hangers (see below)Β which I’ve bought
sometime ago.
photo 2
And I thought why not used them and I’ve a pull bell (Not that I’ve maids/butlers, LOL, It does make a great wall decoration)

I got these lovely fabric as the backing. Happy to pick this one up as this is a thick fabric to work on.photo 1 I then iron on an interfacing at the back of my work and sew it away.

And ta-dah.. Proud to present you the finished work.
Fotor0523185716A little sad that some of the graphic is too small to be seen. Oh well, guess, I must remember to use a bigger count cloth next time.

But, I’m happy to say that I’ve added 2 small bells on the side. MyΒ intention is to get the “butler” aka the Hubby to bring over any tea or cake when I wanted to. I just got to ring the pull bell and *cross-fingers* he will bring it over.
How convenient is that
πŸ˜€ *Grin*LOL
(Nah!, I’m not that mean.. I love him too much to ask him to get me anything).

Oh well.. maybe I should give it a try later.. heehee πŸ˜‰
Okie friends, I got to go now and you have a great weekend ahead.
I’ll see you soon & wishing youΒ Happy crafting as always.

 

34 thoughts on “Needle-quest (May)~Blackwork Part 2/2

    • yeah.. i think i started sometime earlier this year.. maybe in Feb.. and just completed in May.. wow.. 3 months.. I’m just a slow stitcher.. heehee.. πŸ˜‰

  1. Well done! You’ve made a great job of your blackwork bell pull. Now then, who will come running when you pull it??=) (It’s OK if it’s your hubby. Wouldn’t you do the same for him sometimes??)

    • Hi Elizabeht, thank you for stopping over.. and yes.. Hubby is having fun pulling it so i can bring him some beer while he’s watching the telly.. LOL.. πŸ˜‰

    • The designs are all picked up from resources.. and the heart one is from this book.. “Made in France: Blackwork by Sonia Lucano” is a great modern looking book for black work.. glad you enjoyed it. πŸ˜€

    • thank you.. the heart design is from this book:
      “made in France: Blackwork by Sonia Lucano” is a very modern looking blackwork book which is great for the library. πŸ˜‰

  2. Ooooh… super-totally ❀ your stitchery skills! Really, really pretty piece, especially with the hangers… They're perfect! Had to LOL at that bit about your hubby πŸ˜€ ❀ ❀

    • heehee.. i can hear him ringing for beer now.. LOL.. is so hot that he likes to have a beer to cool himself down.. I hope you for your Mac back.. πŸ˜€

      • lol, yup! … My hubby likes his beer throughout the year. Lighter tasting draft in the summer and heavier ale in the winter πŸ™‚ We hired an IT guy, but all he did was charge us $85/hr to try fixing it 😦 So these days, hubby has been figuring out my iMac. He’s not an IT (nor an Apple computer) guy, but he’s really smart and learning as he goes. For the last couple of days, I’ve finally been able to surf the internet on my iMac… woohoo! So that’s a step in the right direction πŸ™‚ Can also see my files, but cannot access them :-/ Also , Still waiting to open and take pics of your pkgβ€”since my photo applications do not open… sigh… The suspense is killing me, but it’s been an exercise in patience … lol … I’m confident he’ll eventually figure it out! πŸ™‚ ❀ ❀

Comments are closed.