Needlequest (May) Blackwork~part 1/2

Hello lovely friends and readers,

Hope things are well on your side this mid-week. As part of the monthly Needle-quest over at Sew-In-Love, this month we are exploring Blackwork Embroidery.

I totally love this embroidery technique. Black work embroidery has its history started long way back during the Tudor period of King Henry VIII when Queen Catherine had brought back pieces of blackwork garments from Spain. Wow… such long history dated back to the 16th Century. Isn’t that amazing ๐Ÿ˜€

Source from Wikipedia (Just look at the sleeves, such intricate stitching)

And guess what, the interesting thing about this embroidery technique is we have to work in the colour “BLACK”. Then again, we can always choose to be more adventurous in the other colour choices ๐Ÿ˜€

In my short journey with Embroidery, I’ve done some small pieces with this technique.ย Below are my past work, feel free to click on any of the links which will direct you in reading more about it.

I’ve done some Black Work Embroidery within an Oak Leaf previously and I’ve filled the space with the filling-in stitches.
You can see that at different angles, the part of the leaf has been filled in with various stitches. The finished look is as below ๐Ÿ™‚ย You can read more about itย here.

I also used black-work technique with a challenge I had earlier on. And since it was a Heart Challenge, I’ve drew a Heart shape and filled the space with this beautiful stitches.ย More reading on thisย post.

And I’ve also had the opportunity to take part in SALs with Black Work embroidery. You may read more as below:

Mini-Sal with Claire93 WordPress

This mini-sal was a fun one which I did with Claire’s WordPress and completed on May 2013. You can read more of the post here. I’ve mixed in red, blue and pink in this mini-SAL. It was totally fun stitching this.

Next up was a SAL with a very delicate design by Avis.

SAL with Avis

We had so much fun being mystified by Avis during this SAL, completed on June 2013. Is like every week we were challenged by Avis with new stitching and in my mind is like “What’s next”. If you like this design, you can read more here too.

In short, I have to say this technique does have its charm in a certain way. If you love geometrical look, something that looks consistent and in order, I’m sure you will be thrilled working in this technique.

As for the quest, I’ve also been working quietly with more black work stitching (which I’ve totally use BLACK this time). It is not really finished yet (cos I’ve only completed 7 of 12 panels, so don’t be alarmed with the blue markings, cos these are my grid lines, and will be washed away with water later).
Anyhow I’m happy to show bits and pieces of it ๐Ÿ˜€

So.. Ta-dah

Panel 1

If you look closely, does it float out like there’s a square with stars embedded in a hexagon? Look Closely…

Panel 2

I LOVE this very much, is make up with crosses and Looks like I’ve been measuring it to make it so equal right.. Heehee..

Panel 3

I just love hexagons.

Panel 7

Crosses and leaves

Panel 6

Flowers and Clover leaves

Panel 4

Very tight-looking honeycomb ๐Ÿ˜€

Panel 5

I call this clover leaves and crosses. I Love this design too.

Now you can understand the reasons why sometimes I’m missing in action right.. LOL.. I had been busy with these panels.. and I can’t believe that I still have 5 more to go :/
LOL. So I’m not sure if I can complete the sampler by the end of month. Anyhow, I will try my best to do so and do check in, I will write another post on this progress.

I hope this write-up may have inspired some of you to start the Blackwork journey. So pick up a cloth, some black thread, needle and stitch away. ย I will leave you with some beautiful ideas, you may click here, here and here for more inspiration.

Have fun and happy stitching :D.

19 thoughts on “Needlequest (May) Blackwork~part 1/2

  1. This is a subject with a great history and a more great potential.I love your example of Flowers and Clover leaves as is first to see something like this . Thanks for sharing
    Renata

    • There are so many patterns for blavkwork that looks simple but when done repeatively, it became an intricate piece.. Is really the beauty of the technique.. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Yes please and we’ll love to see your creation.. Thank you for stopping by and dropping me a comment.. Happy stitching.. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I adore blackwork embroidery, they had some gorgeous examples at Hampton Court Palace. I once saw a chessboard made of blackwork and it was stunning ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Oh totally agreed with the delicate pieces shown in Hampton court.. I would like to attempt the chessboard one day too.. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. blackwork is a really gorgeous embroidery. Well done on all your blackworkings ^^

  4. They are adorable angela..i just know how to make cros stitch and french knots..more things to learn for me..

    • Thank you for your comment.. I’m still on a long way for being perfect.. But we’ll all strive on for the love of crafting yah.. ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. I tried out black work for the first time last year when &stitches had their color work challenge. I did it in purple and really loved seeing it in bright colors.

    Your stitching is amazing, all of the patterns look perfect and so mesmerizing to look at! It makes me want to start a new black work project!

Comments are closed.