Sunday Stitching (Hardanger Part 1 of 2)

Hello my lovely readers,
How’s your weekend so far? I hope thins are bright and lovely on your side. We finally had Rain for the first time in 2 months. Yipeee… is really cool and the grasses and flowers finally can quench some thirst… I’m starting to get worried that the tress and grasses are starting to turn very brown.. hopefully in the next few days, we have more rain and things will be green here.

For me, I had fun stitching up my very first Hardanger piece. So I’m going to decipher the mystery of this beautiful needlework.

Firstly, the needlework has to be work over linen or evenweave kind of cloth. No aida, b’cos there’s a need to count the thread lines. Next, the thread used is kind of costly too 😦 they are not the normal DMC kind of thread but pearl cotton thread.

Normally the designs calls for theΒ basic stitches, which are made up of Kloster Blocks. You can see them here in the picture.
photo 1
and this is how the kloster block is made:

Source:crossstitch.about.com

I know how the diagram does not make any sense, but is actually worked within the holes and across the thread lines to form a block. For my work, it was worked over 5 thread lines and across the five holes stitching up and down like that in the picture.

I must say, after a while of hardanger, my eyes were looking like these >.< (lol..really cross-eyed)

photo 2Secondly, the button-hole stitching technique comes in handy too. This is needed to put a border around the work before cutting up the piece. It kinds of give some security to it, and hence the cloth will not frail when is cut up.

Thirdly, in this design, I’ve also made some small eyelets. it does give some lacy look to it. Don’t you agree to it. I think I had fun with these eyelets. πŸ˜€

photo 3photo 4

And last but not least, do not get confused with the front and back. The next picture here shows the back actually. Β Can you see that on the across line? There is a Β stitch like this: /
This Β stitch (/) is the connecting stitch to the next stitch in the front.
It can be quite confusing when the front and back look pretty alike.

photo 5

Back of the work

So what do you think of this technique? Will you give it a try?
I’m left with some cut work to do and hope I will come back soon with part 2. I definitely loving this technique and hope there will be more hardanger projects to come later. I wish you a crafty weekend ahead.

18 thoughts on “Sunday Stitching (Hardanger Part 1 of 2)

  1. Stunning work, the colour of the thread is so beautiful, and you are a brave soul for embarking on hardanger, the counting and the pattern is such a challenge! It is gorgeous, and thank you for linking up! Chrissie x ps try ebay for bargains on that more expensive floss – a friend got a whole box of colours for a song! πŸ˜‰

  2. I really love doing hardanger, although I haven’t done any for ages. I think I will have to look out some patterns and have another go! Your motif looks lovely. πŸ™‚

    • Thank u okecrafter.. πŸ™‚ I just started out.. And I can see that there are many beautiful motifs to try.. πŸ™‚ by the way are u back in the UK?

Comments are closed.