Needle Quest (Feb)~ Japan

Hello my dear readers,

This post is a continuation on my monthly Needle Quest with Sew In Love. This month, our topic is Japan. I could have written all about Japan throughout February. Really.. There are so many things that came through my mind when I saw this theme. Some of them include:

Sushi (My Favourite food)

Ramen (My hubby’s Favorite food)

Bento

Kawaii

Sanrio

Sakura (Cherry Blossom)

Geisha

LOL.. and the list goes no.. However, I rather stick to my personal experience with Japan. I’m lucky to visit this lovely country 3 times so far.

First when I was 15 on a school exchange program for about 2 weeks.

Japan

Can you spot me ( 2nd from the Left)

photo 3

Can you spot me? (3rd from the Left)

We were touring between Hiroshima and Tokyo. This was in 1997. Β It was the best trip in my life. Considering my first time travelling out of the country without my parents and I got to be with my friends. Is my first time to Disneyland and my first time experiencing Snow. To many of us who has spent most of our life in
a tropical country, can you imagine, how crazy we were when we see snow.. LOL

photo 4

Be mindful, there were many of us (high school age) LOL… so you can imagine the kind of mischief we are up too. Β Yup, now thinking back, I wonder how the teachers managed all of us crazy high school kids :D.

Then in 2001, I had another home stay exchange experiences when I was 19. This time, we were more mature and we had more control with our itinerary. We had fun traveling around Kansai Area~ Kobe, Nara, Osaka and Kyoto.
photo 4photo 1
This time, I’ve had the chance to dress up in kimono. I took a shot with my host. It took about 45 minutes to get dress up. There were many layers of cloths to wear and the finally a huge bow to be tied around the waist. Is quite an interesting experiences for me and all I have to do was to stand and wait to be doll up :D.

In 2011, I had a another chance in visiting Tokyo again. This time, was for my honeymoon. Emm.. the thing is, I can’t remember where I’ve put all the photos for this. LOL.. I think my hubby was too busy trying out all the ramen and I was just being happy soaking up in all the shopping.

As for Needlework, I must say, I have the opportunity to work on my first piece of Japanese Embroidery in 2012. This is such long hours of stitching (I cannot remembered how long I took to complete this piece, but I must say it has definitely tested my patient.) Japanese Embroidery is really very technical and there were many techniques to learnt. I really do hope that I can continue with Japanese Embroidery some point later in my life (especially when I have more money, cos the Silk cloth and Silk thread do cost alot)
20120927_091102 20120928_094337

20121006_144725

The Complete Piece~ Flower Basket

And If you recall earlier, I did a Cross stitch card for a lovely friend who loves Geisha.
20130705_203423
I’ve also did this over the past few weeks, ~Sashiko Embroidery.
photo 1photo 2
I must say the Geometrical Shapes Had caught my attention. This is my first piece completed. I’ve not thought about what I’m going to do with it yet, but I had fun stitching it.

I’m sorry for such a long post, I do have so many things to write and share about Japan. This country is fill with many exquisite crafts and beautiful scenery. The Japanese people are very creative, kind, passionate, hospitable and patient people. For me, I will definitely return to Japan one day for more touring and shopping adventures.

In the meantime, I wish you a happy crafting weekend ahead. πŸ˜€

18 thoughts on “Needle Quest (Feb)~ Japan

  1. Interesting post! I always wanted to go to Japan. Love their cultures, language and the view of the country. And your work on the japanese embroidery is stunning! πŸ™‚

    • thank you.. πŸ˜€
      I think there are many affordable flights to Japan now from Malaysia.. Like Air Asia travels there too.. Maybe you can plan for one trip soon. πŸ˜€

  2. I loved hearing all about Japan. The food pics are stunning( i love both sushi and ramen, and never tried bento!), your high school days look so happy, and the embroidery looks gorgeous! I’ve been lucky to visit Japan too, but it was a very short holiday! I wasn’t crafty at all int hose days, and now i look forward to my visit there someday to learn more about their arts and crafts! πŸ™‚

    • yup.. I love this country.. there’s so many prefecture to explore.. heehee.. we were a bunch of teenagers up to mischief.. I’m glad the teachers took care of us.. πŸ˜€

    • heehee.. i agree with you.. there were many layers of cloth underneath the kimono.., and there are some tying of bows, i felt suffocated at the end.. I can’t imagine how the Geisha can wear it all day.. πŸ˜€

    • thank you.. πŸ˜€ it was a tough 5 days embroidery course.. I hope to do it again when I have the money and time.. πŸ˜€
      I love Japan so much that I wish I can visit yearly.. Maybe you can plan a Asia trip and include Japan someday.. and Me.. I’m in Singapore.. heehee.. πŸ˜€

      • Thanks!
        I love traveling a lot but we will have to wait until my four year old son grows up a bit…
        I added Singapure to my traveling wishlist πŸ™‚
        Maybe you can come and visit me sooner. Is Barcelona in your wishlist?

        • heehee.. definitely.. i guess the weather has gone crazy or something.. we have no rain for almost 2 months now.. and the grass are going so dry that is started catching fire.. and hence is very hazy and smoking now.. sign!!

Comments are closed.