A Lacy Shawl

Hello friends and welcome new readers,

Hope your weekend had gone by well for you.

We had a busy weekend here in Singapore, as it was the Chinese New Year Weekend (which explains why there was no Mails yesterday). We were busy with family visiting and somehow, I’ve managed to squeeze in some time for Crochet too. I guess, this is very easy to bring around while traveling and I had just that few rows to complete.

So, if you recall back on one of my previous Wordless Wednesday post, I posted a picture on what’s on my needle.

And I got to say this piece has slowly grown over time…
From this…

…which looks like tiny shells

to this…

20140204_185059

And finally this…

20140204_18501120140204_185018

For this project,I’ve used a 60% Acrylic & 40% Nylon yarn blend and a size 3.5mm crochet hook.  I got my pattern from here.
I guess, I was following the pattern as required too closely, I could have heeded Janette’s advice to use a bigger hook like a 5.5mm one she has used so I could have created a more lacy effect and I believe I could have taken lesser time too..*oops* Nevertheless the turn out does look a little less lacy, and because of that, it does keep me warm underneath .

Well, note to self, choose a bigger hook next time and remember to heed other blogger’s advice.

I wish you a crafty week ahead.
And to all my Chinese readers, I wish you:

新年快乐     吉祥如意

16 thoughts on “A Lacy Shawl

    • thank you and is really easy to crochet.. Get a hook size 4.0mm and some yarn and I learnt some basic from the you-tube and off you go.. happy crafting. 😀

    • thank you for your kind words and encouragement.. I will remember your crochet tip to try a few hooks size.. guess.. is worth trying to see how it looks on different one.. 😀 thank you so much

  1. It looks lovely. Yes, it’s hard to tell which hook,I always try a couple before I choose – I crochet very loosely, so I regularly change down or my work is too big/loose!
    Kung Hei Fat Choi!

    • Gong Xi Fa Cai too.. and thank you for your crochet tip and encouragement.. 😀 next time I’ll got to use a few hooks and check things out 😉 thanks for your lovely comment.

Comments are closed.