Busy Chicken Scratching….

Dear friends and new readers,

Hope your week has gone by well for you. Gosh are we already at the last few days of September? Can’t believe is already the 28th.

I had been busy chicken scratching the past few days. Not that I have a brood of chickens running in my house and need my attention. Of course, that will be a hilarious thought. Hee hee hee.

Anyway let me share with you how I chance upon chicken Scratching. Recently, I got this embroidery book,
Title: Embroidery Companion, Classic Designs for Β Modern Living
Author:Alicia Paulson
ISBN: 978-0-307-46235-0

and I am inspired by this page (45).
20130928_185116 20130928_185123

The techniques just look lovely and I had some revamping to do in the kitchen anyway. I always feel this part of the kitchen just look very cold and metallic looking.
20130914_124440
So, I pick up two pink gingham cloth and using DMC 304 and started Chicken Scratching. I must say the name of this embroidery does not do any justice to the overall turn out. I did some research on the net and found other names like snowflaking/ Amish lace or Depression lace. Look at how beautiful it is out on the gingham cloth.
20130914_124325
The after look with the finished work.photo (1)photo (2)photoI made two pieces for both layer and I’m happy the turn out as it had definitely soften the metallic look and added some sweeten to it. What do you think of this?

I wish you happy stitching this weekend.

16 thoughts on “Busy Chicken Scratching….

    • Hee hee.. Yup.. I thought do too.. I’m loving the technique.. There’s tons of lovely patterns on the net which i love to try. Is a little like blackwork.. πŸ™‚ thank u for stopping by today.

    • Yah.. Me too.. Have not heard of it till i found this lovely book. If you do a google search.. There’s plently if lovely patterns to try. Thank you for stopping by.. πŸ˜‰

  1. What a difference you beautiful gingham and chicken scratch have made! Love the new look. Had never heard of chickenscratch in embroidery terms. Yours looks amazing! And perfectly straight! LOVE!!

Comments are closed.