Happy 48th Birthday Singapore + a Giveaway

Today Singapore Celebrates her 48th years of independence from Malaysia in 1965. This Public Holiday will feature the National Day Parade, with fireworks dancing in the night sky (okie, I’m exaggerating here, maybe only 10mins in the night sky) followed by the Prime Minister Speech (the National Day Rally).

Recently, Something like that came through my mailbox.

20130809_135726

And this had prompt me to write more about where I’m from.

Where exactly is Singapore? Some may have difficulty in finding us, cos we are merely a small dot on the map. So I guess, it is naturally for most people will group us together with China. Is like most people think Singapore is part of China (I’m making a wild guess here, cos’ there’s always this kind of marketing/advertisement out there about: Shanghai, Hong Kong and Singapore; so naturally people think we are part of it,)

Well the truth is, we are not part of China and we are far away from China.

cute heart icon photo: icon bow-heart.gifRandom Facts about Singaporecute heart icon photo: icon bow-heart.gif

1. This is how our flag looks like
2. This is where we are located

(Source: from Wikipedia)
We are located at the southern tip of the Malaysia Peninsula. Our total Land Mass area is about 710 km square.

3. Our current population is slightly over 5 million now with highly diverse population of Chinese, Malay, Indians and other foreigners.

4. We are a land of immigrants.

5. We have 4 official languages: English, Mandarin, Malay and Tamil. English is the main language used in Schools, Legal Document and all government and corporate firms.

So now for the fun part. I’m giving away 2 gifts to ONLY my followers.
The criteria of the giveaway is as below:

1. You have to be a follower of Pretty Little Things in a Box to enter the contest.

2. You need to leave a comment on which package you like to receive:

20130809_120032 20130809_120052

The Batik package or Little Flower package
& any birthday wishes you have for Singapore.
(The Prize consists of a 0.5m piece of fabric,
magnet, postcard and
a pack of spice, with English instruction to make the soup)

3. This Contest will end on 15th Aug, 23:59 Hrs (GMT+ 8 hours) and is open to everyone. Make sure you have a valid email and mailing address. I ship internationally. Ā I will use random number draw and email the winners.

Thank you for stopping by and Good luck to the contestants.

singapore flag photo: Singapore flag_singapore5.gif

22 thoughts on “Happy 48th Birthday Singapore + a Giveaway

  1. Thank you for the info. I am ashamed to say I know little about your country (or indeed that you came from there until today!) I am most surprised about English being your official language. I would be delighted with either package should I be lucky enough to win. Have a great day. xx

  2. Oh wow, it is fascinating reading about your country! Happy birthday Singapore! What a lovely thing to be able to celebrate šŸ™‚ I like the little flower package best šŸ™‚

  3. I would like to enter and I would like the ‘Batik Package’ as I love batik. What a lovely giveaway!

    You might be interested to know that I was born in Singapore as my father was in the then colonial service as a meterologist. I left at only ten weeks old but have always wanted to go back and see where I was born though I think that is unlikely now I am over sixty. My parents were there for quite a long time and they used to tell me all about life there and the people.

    • I will enter your name to the Batik Package and thank you for sharing your personal story. Singapore has changed much over the years and we welcome you back anytime.. :D.

  4. Thank you for sharing a bit about your country. I, as well, did not know that English was the main language there. Happy Birthday Singapore. I hope you have a great day celebrating. Either package would be wonderful. Thank you for the opportunity to win šŸ™‚

    • Hi Ginny, thank you for stopping by and I will enter your name to the “Little Flower Package” if you are okie with it. and thanks for joining in the contest. Good Luck. šŸ˜€

  5. Happy Independence Singapore (my own country,Jamaica,celebrated ours in August 6)! I understand the importance of this day. I’m not sure I know much about Singapore…I’d love a chance to win the Batik package, but either one I’d be grateful! Congrats again!

    • thank you for sharing the information and I just learnt we had quite a close independence day together. šŸ˜€
      I will enter your name to the Batik Package. thank you for entering and Good luck. šŸ˜€

  6. oh I’d love to participate! thanks for the beautiful prizes, I must say I cannot resist the charm of that Batik fabric šŸ˜‰
    thank you for the India about Singapore, I actually checked that Wikipedia page when we first “met” šŸ˜œ
    enjoy the holiday! happy independence Singapore! šŸŽŠ

  7. I have always wanted to visit Singapore! And I knew where it is šŸ˜‰ Happy birthday Singapore!!
    The flower package looks lovely ^^ (the pack of spice looks yummy :3) Thank you for the giveaway!

  8. Happy birthday Singapore! Your post is really nice and very informative too. We are practically neighbors right? (I’m from the Philippines and we met in Swap-bot hehe!) Many of my friends has visited your country and I think it’s becoming to be a popular tourist destination. I have always heard how clean Singapore is and that people there are very disciplined. Maybe one day, I hope to visit Singapore too! Can I join in your give-away? I like the Batik package. Best regards! šŸ™‚

Comments are closed.