Read-a-thon (Day 4): Create a Book Spine Poetry

Challenge as set by Oh, Chrys!

The challenge today is to create a book spine poetry. LOL.. Something which I’ve never imagine.. and I thought I better give it a try. I try to pull out my existing books and have a go.

20130705_112248
So my poetry submissions is as below:
” Can you keep a secret? With a Place called Here, where the Girl chased the moon and remarkable creatures roam and
a place where the rainbow ends”

You may have a laugh with my crazy poetry. I’m not good at it. Well it all in the name of fun.

The next challenge today set by Effortless Reading is to:

  • Share a quote from your current read or tell us about a book that really pulled on your heart strings. What was it about that book/quote that made you cry?

My pick will be:

Title: P.S I Love You BY Cecilia Ahern,
ISBN: 978-0-00716500-1

I remembered reading this book with a packet of tissue by my side and my husband thought what the world has happened. I read the letters from Gerry to Holly with tears. Is just makes me cry, like a lot. I think the love between two person is so strong that when one passed on, Gerry left traces of notes which allows Holly to continue living and picking herself up .. well this whole letter writing thing really made me cry.
The first letter written was as below (I’m going to cheat a little, I know, I’m supposed to give a quote, but… emmm.. reading just this already made me teared):
(adapted from page 32 of P.S. I love you)

My darling Holly, 
I don’t know where you are or when exactly you are reading this. I just hope that my letter has found you safe and healthy. You whispered to me not long ago that you couldn’t go on alone. You can Holly.
 You are strong, brave and you can get through this. We shared some beautiful times together and you made my life… I have no regrets.
But I am just a chapter in your life- there will be many more. Remember our wonder memories, but please don’t be afraid to make some more.
Thank you for doing me the honour of being my wife. For everything, I am eternally grateful.
Whenever you need me, know that I am with you.

Love for ever, Your husband and best friend, Gerry.”
****
Somehow the movie does not have the impact as the book.. I don’t know why, maybe the emotions are not acted out that well enough.
Wow.. what a challenge for Day 4.

 

4 thoughts on “Read-a-thon (Day 4): Create a Book Spine Poetry

  1. You’re book spine poetry is nice. Who knew we could do that, right?

    Also, I have not read the book P.S. I Love You, but I agree that a movie never does justice to the book most of the time. Happy reading!

    • heehee.. yup.. the book spine idea is really wonderful..
      oh please get the book and forget about the movie.. i think the book is a good read.. and also a pack of tissue paper.. if you are as emotional as me.. heheee.. 😀
      happy reading..

Comments are closed.