Read-a-thon (Day 1)

Aloha my readers and friends stopping by,

Hope the weekend had been a fabulous one. Today is the start of the Read-a-thon. I got myself into this fun after seeing a post over at All Night Knits, and thought.. emmm.. maybe I should give it a go too.

The Challenge from Self Addiction ~Summer Loving’ RaT’s is doing a teaser tidbit today.

The Guidelines are as followed (adapted from Self Addiction’s Post)

  • Grab the book you’re currently reading (or recently read)
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page  NO spoilers allowed! Choose passages void of spoilers. The goal is to entice, yet not ruin the book for others!
  • Share the title & author, so that other participants can add the book to their TBR lists if they like your teasers!
  • Last and but not least, link up your post using the InLinkz below so that others participants can check out your post! You must link up in order to get your participation entry point! You MUST enter using the InLinkz to get your point .

The Book that I’m currently reading is:

HEART-OF-THE-MATTER-197x300

Heart of the Matter by Emily Giffin,
ISBN: 978-1-4091-1834-4

The 2 teaser sentences that I choose are:
a) “I will do anything I can for your son,’ he says, ‘but I want you to remember something. Will you please do that for me?” (page 14)

b) Medicine makes a jealous mistress, I think, an expression I first hear during Nick’s first year of residency, from a bitter doctor’s wife who, I later learned, left her husband for her personal trainer. (page 16)

The suspense of this book is keeping me high. So far I’ve read up to page 63 and has been in my bag to keep me accompany on train rides. I felt I’ve learnt much from this book as how we put ourselves forward being a parent. Well something for me to ponder on and think about. One day when I ever become a parent… this book will be a dear guidance for me.. well in a way.. photo hearts-1_zps28dc2d68.gif

 photo bearline.gif

“Class Orientation” Participation Post:

Introduce yourself and set your goals for the read-a-thon. Some interesting information to include in this post would be Where are you blogging from? What got you into blogging/reading? What is your favorite genre? The possibilities are endless, just be creative!

So here goes…

My name is Angela and I’m blogging from Singapore. I have a personal blog between 2004 and 2005 which I blog about my personal journey in life, But I’ve closed that down now. My current blog is about crafts and also some fun stuff happening for swaps.

What got me reading was these:
20130702_132053

I wanted all these pretty badges badly to pin on my uniform.
When I was about 9 years old (primary three), my school teacher introduce us this reading program. We are to read a book and write some book review on it. For the first 50 books, the student will be awarded a bronze badge and in the next 50, silver and the next 50 gold badge. So I managed to get all three badges before I leave Primary school. The other reason what got me into reading was constant encouragement from my English teacher to improve the language. In my home, no one speaks English to me, we normally speaks Mandarin, so my English Language was poor. I remembered having trouble to read “Mr Meddle’s Mischief” By Enid Blyton. I struggled for a while to understand what it was

My favorite genre of books include, Friction, thriller, history based, somewhere along this line, I’m not too picky with books so long I can understand the writer and laugh about it. I’m happy to read till the end.

And Also The books in my house are normally crafty-theme books.

You can see the picture as below:
My Main library at the living room
20130702_113440
Co-share book shelves in the studying room
20130702_113650

Happy reading and looking out for new ideas.

 photo cutecolorsfaeline2.gif

 

14 thoughts on “Read-a-thon (Day 1)

  1. This looks like a lot of fun. I’d try it, but since my current reading is the collected poetry-theory lectures and essays of Wallace Stevens, I doubt I’d entice too many people to join in! *laugh*

  2. I also love books and your idea of a Read-a-thon is great. I’ll definitely give it a try or a variation of it in my blog. Hehe. Thanks for the idea and keep writing!

    • oh yes.. please join in the fun.. is running for a week.. 😀
      hope to see some of your recommended reading list my friend.. 😀

    • Hello OkeCrafter,
      Thank you for stopping by today.. please take a look at the challenge.. is a one week of challenges.. I love it too.. 😀
      and you can put your shared book list on your blog.. i will hop over to read.. 😀

Comments are closed.