Free Shrug Pattern

Hello my lovely readers,

Heehee.. I know I was being a little naughty past few days, keeping you guys in suspense on what I was going to make. So I thought I’ll make it up to you guys by writing out the Pattern For this. Is free for you guys to Use. I’ve included some pictures and also a video which I’ve found on YouTube to help you for this tutorial.

Firstly
Take your body Measurement. I Measured the length of my arm Spam and my Shoulder. And calculate the total desired length I want for this project. So these are what I have Measured..

Measure the desired Arm length
I wanted something Long. Bear in Mind that the ruffle yarn will also add some centimeters to the work.

Picture10

Measure the length of shoulder

Picture12

Measure the width of your work

Picture5
Bearing in Mind this is not a cardigan. It is supposed to give some warmth to shoulder and arm area.
So need not be too particular with the width, unless you want it wider.

Okie, after getting the measurement, next will be the calculation of the desired working length. Im this case, I’m using the calculation from the photos
40cm (from the shoulder) +(35cm x 2; from the arm, need to multiply both side of arm)=110cm
I then add an addition 15cm for some  movement allowances like stretching etc.
So total desired work length is 125cm. You may add more allowance if you want like 20cm or more for more moving space.

So after choosing the colour of yarn you want to make (I bought 2 skeins of 100% acrylic Coffee Colour Yarn.
In total you may need 1 1/2 Skeins for the whole made up, bearing in ming there is a need for sewing the sleeves, so 2 skeins is more than sufficient. (This is option; but you want the ruffle at the sleeve, do remember to also get a Ruffle type yarn. Cos’ for the sleeves, I’ve added a Ruffle type of yarn like this.)
20130503_114929
If you take a closer look, it had small pompom and also some sequins.

Here is the pattern (in UK terms) for the made up of the shrug. Have fun.

Special Abbreviation
ch: Chain
ch sp: Chain Space
dc=UK Double Crochet; US Single Crochet
Tr=UK Treble Crochet; US Double Crochet
lp: loops
Shell= (1tr, 1 ch, 1 tr, 1 ch, 1 tr) in same sp
Sl St: Slip Stitch
Sp: Space
Sk: Skip
St-chain: Starting Chain
Make 50 chains (Remember earlier on I measure the width of the Shrug earlier, if you wanna make a wider piece, use a bigger hook like 7.00mm or 8.oomm. As I wanted to keep it to 25cm, I used a 6.0mm Hook)
Picture7Row 1: 1 dc in 2nd ch from hook, 1 dc in each ch to end, turn (49 dc)

Row 2: 1 ch, 1 dc in 1st dc, 1 dc in next dc, (3 ch, sk 3 dc, 1 tr in next dc, sk 1 dc, 1 tr in next dc, 3 ch, sk 3 dc, 1 dc in next dc, 1 ch, sk 1 dc, 1 dc in next dc) repeat to end, finishing with 1 dc in each of last 2 dc, turn.

Row 3: 3 ch, 1 tr in 1st st, (3 ch, 1 dc in next 1-ch sp, 3 ch, Shell in next 1-ch sp) repeat to end, finishing with sk 1 dc, (1tr,
1 ch, 1 tr) in last dc, turn.

Row 4: 1ch, 1 dc in 1 sl st, 1 tr in 1-ch sp, (3 ch, 1 dc in next 3-ch lp, 1 ch, 1 dc in next 3-ch lp, 3 ch, 1 tr in 1 ch sp of shell,
1 ch, 1 tr in 1-ch of shell) repeat to end, finishing with 3 ch, 1 tr in last 1-ch sp, 1 tr in 2nd ch of st-chain, turn.

Row 5: 1ch, 1 dc, (3ch, Shell in next 1-ch sp, 3 ch, 1 dc in next 1 ch sp) repeat to end finishing with 3 ch, 1 dc in 1 ch sl-st, add a sl-st to st-chain, turn.

Row 6: 1 ch, 1 dc in 1 sl-st, 1 dc in 3-ch lp, (3 ch, 1 tr in 1-ch sp of shell, 1 ch , 1 tr in 1-ch sp of shell, 3 ch, 1 dc in next 3-ch lp, 1 ch, 1 dc in next 3-ch lp) repeat to end, finishing with 3 ch in last 3 ch lp, 1 dc n last dc, turn.

Row 3-6 form pattern. Repeat Pattern to desired Work Length.

For the make up of the sleeves.
Step 1: Fold the desired work LengthWays.
Picture9

Step 2:  Measure the desired Arm Length you want. For Me it was 35cm.
Picture14
Please work for both Sides. I used mattress stitch to stitch up the work.

To Add Ruffle Yarn (option)
You need to do 1 dc into all the stitches using a ruffle yarn at the edge of the sleeve.
I’ve attached a video on how to do this( although the video shows how to crochet a ruffle yarn scarf; but the technique is pretty much similar.)


Yippee…. and you have a complete Shrug..
Hope this will keep you warm in Spring  photo Winky.gif.

4 thoughts on “Free Shrug Pattern

Comments are closed.