Sewing on A different Medium

Aloha My Readers and Those who stopped by,

If you happened to walk into the news-stand today, please pick up the April Cross Stitcher Magazine Issue 264. In it there is this pretty free gift plus many beautiful stitching pattern.

20130415_094334
The Free Gift allows you to try to stitch onto a different Medium- Wood.
Yes.. You heard me.. Is a piece of wooden piece which will be attached to a key ring. And at the end of it, you will have a key chain. It is challenging handling a wood, as the wood is less responsive than fabric. I find the finishing a little tough for me to handle.

Nonetheless, I’ve completed it and See below photos for samples of my work.

20130416_223009 20130416_223056

I really love the blue shade which is DMC 3846. The pattern is lovely with a vintage touch. Well, the Key Ring is now happily Sitting near the door way for it to be pick up.

20130416_230109

So before the magazine is sold out, quick Run to your nearest News-Stand to purchase it.
Have Fun Stitching. stitching photo: stitching stitching stitching... stitcher.gif

6 thoughts on “Sewing on A different Medium

  1. I’ve not heard of stitching on wood. Your piece turned out beautifully. I will have to see if the magazine is available here. I also want to let you know that I received the beautiful ring that I won on your give-away! Thank you so much! It’s beautiful and I will post it on my blog just as soon as can get out from underneath some work stuff. Hugs!

    • Hi Ginny,
      I must say it is really fun stitching on wood. Is just that it is not as responsive as fabric and I had trouble with the finishing. I’m glad the ring have reached you.. Yipee..
      Hope the magazine is still available at your end. Have fun stitching. =)

  2. Ooh I have wanted to try stitching on wood for ages but it seems quite hard to track down in the UK…does the magazine list any suppliers? I was debating buying the magazine but alas the bank account had other ideas! I’m cross stitching on a metal cuff at the moment…it will look lovely but it is driving me crazy! It is much more difficult and time consuming than I expected!

    • Hi Hannah,
      Thanks for stopping by,
      ohhh wow stitching on metal cuff… You have to show us when that’s done… I’ve read through the magazine.. but they did not state any suppliers… I hope you may find it somewhere soon in the craft shop or something…
      happy stitching and hope to see your work soon.
      cheers.

      • Oh there will be pictures soon! I’m just waiting for more beading needles to arrive because the holes are TINY and keeps bending the eyes in my beading needles! Giving me a headache but it is starting to look worth it!

        • Hi Hannah,
          Cool… I can’t wait to see your creation and your post about about it soon.. I’m sure it will be all put well together in the end.. =) Happy stitching

Comments are closed.