I’m new to Even-weave, Please help me.

My Dear Readers,

Thank you for stopping by.

I’m so inspired by the various blogs which I’ve followed all this while. These bloggers have inspired me to stitch again. (Yes, I do have like a box of kits which I’ve not really stitched yet. *Blush*)

But every time when I read these inspired blogs, I’m so tempted to stitch again. The Stitching blogs which I’ve followed and may also be of interest to you are:
1. Stitcheroo My Darling
2. Fun Stitch Blog English, too
3. My Time Stitching
4. Hannah Ackroyd
5. Claire93’s Blog

Just wanna tell you guys really rock. And I love all your stitching work and projects.
So, while I was looking through all those cross stitch kit which I’ve bought previously, one of them caught my eye.

I bought this about 1 year plus back when I was visiting Copenhagen, Denmark. What prompt me to buy was the picture of The Little Mermaid (statue) which I visited during my trip there (see photo below)
resized

I wanted to bring some memories back. So when I was walking though one of the craft shop, I chanced upon this (see photo below) and without hesitation, I bought it. Well, It kind of have been left on my to do stitch box for sometimes.
20130404_100401

So, when I opened up and wanted to try it, I just realized is a piece of even-weave cloth which I’ve not attempted before. While searching for answers on the internet, I found that is stitch over 3×3 blocks instead. So I’ve attempted some small stitches. Very Small steps actually.

20130404_100529 20130404_100534

Yes, I definitely need some help here. If you can give me some pointers or drop me some comments that will help. I hope the work will turn out fine.  photo icandoit.gif
Anyway, do keep a lookout in this space for more updates.. Heehee. Oh, wish me luck.  photo bunnyface.gif

9 thoughts on “I’m new to Even-weave, Please help me.

  1. Oh wow I’m glad I have inspired you to do some stitching! Thank you for the link 🙂 I am actually in the middle of stitching my first even-weave project too! To begin with it was a pain to keep making sure that I was stitching into the right holes but I’ve been at it for a few days now and it feels like second nature now… definitely nicer to work with than aida! I have found it impossible to stitch without a hoop though, but it certainly makes it easier to see that you are stitching into the right place when it is pulled tight. I also watched this YouTube video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PceviKJHoIY I didn’t take up any of the tips but you might find them useful to consider! Good luck with your stitching!

    • Hi Hannah,
      Thank you for stopping by and your pointers. I’ve taken a look at the youtube you’ve suggested. Yes, I’m also struggling with counting the holes.. Hope I will get it correct soon. Will post more pictures as I progress.
      Cheers =)

  2. What a sweet kit! And it definitely will bring back some memories for you as she looks so much like the statue you saw. I don’t think I can help you, I’m an Aida girl. I have stitched on some evenweaves, but always over 2 with 2 threads. Though there are some awesome stitchers that stitch over one. I would just suggest to stitch how you are comfortable. Thank you so much for listing me as one of your favorite blogs. I have been trying to add a long list of new blogs to my blog, but haven’t quite figured it out yet. I have done it before, but can’t seem to find how since WP has changed so many things since I have started. Good luck with the stitching. I will enjoy watching your progress.

  3. That’s a lovely design to stitch, and what you’ve done so far on the Evenweave looks fine to me. It looks lovely and neat 🙂
    Once you get used to it, I think it’s as easy as stitching on Aida, and easier when you have fractional stitches to do. It looks nicer once finished too. You just need to take a bit more care with counting holes than you do with Aida.

    • Hi Carole,
      Thanks for stopping by and your encouragement. Yes, I will be careful with counting the holes. Will post more pictures later. Thank you so much. =P

  4. Hi, Wisher! Thanks for mentioning my blog!! 🙂
    You got a lovely mermaid kit. That’s beautiful. I can’t wait to watch your progress.
    About even-wave, I’ve never used it. Your stitches seem great to me!

    • Hi JuJu,
      Thanks for stopping by. Yes, I will post more pictures about it. x cross fingers x, that it will turn out fine..
      heehee… cheers,

Comments are closed.