Goldwork is Hardwork

Ok, on the 2nd attempt to embroidery techniques, there was this class on Introduction to Goldwork at Hampton court and I thought, why not give it a go..  As I’ve wiki it, the history dates back to 2000 years ago, and originally developed from Asia. Is used for high quality church vestment and art embroidery.

Is really hardwork.. especially to a total new beginner like myself. First the metal threads are expensive and there are various kind of thread or metal bits to be used. There is the normal thread, passing, then the metal bits like pearl purl, check purl, crimped purl, Roccoco.

The effect of the embroidery is magnificent, because there is this ‘Blink Blink’ look. I’m not sure if I’m going to pursue more of this. Like I say the material cost is expensive and seems like it will cost a bomb for bigger project. Nevertheless, I think is good that I have a go and experienc

